Books of the bible poster
The Old Testament (also known as the Jewish Tanakh) is the first

39 books in most Christian Bibles.

The name stands for the original promise with

God (to the descendants of Abraham in particular) prior to the coming of

Jesus Christ in the New Testament (or the new promise).

The Old Testament contains the creation of the

universe, the history of the patriarchs, the exodus from Egypt,

the formation of Israel as a nation, the

subsequent decline and fall of the nation, the Prophets (who spoke for

God), and the Wisdom Books.

The New Testament is a collection of 27 books, usually placed

after the Old Testament in most Christian Bibles.

The name refers to the new covenant (or promise)

between God and humanity through the death and resurrection of Jesus


The New Testament chronicles the life and

ministry of Jesus, the growth and impact of the early church, and

instructive letters to early churches.